FISU World Championship starts

September 5, 2016

The 9th edition of the FISU World University Squash Championship starts today, 5 September and will last until 11 September. The event will be hosted in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia. A total of 21 countries have confirmed their participation. The host nation’s iconic squash venue, the National Squash Centre in Bukit Jalil, will see a battle royale featuring hosts, Malaysia, defending champions, Egypt, Australia, Great Britain, and Pakistan.

The event can be followed via different platforms:

Website: &


Twitter: @FISUnetwork

Hashtag: #WUCSquash2016

About FISU

Founded in 1949, FISU (International University Sports Federation) is an organisation dedicated to university sport and the promotion of excellence in mind and body. Balancing elite sport competition and academic studies, the student-athletes participating in FISU events are today’s stars and tomorrow’s leaders. FISU has three core sport properties: the Summer and Winter Universiade and the World University Championships. The Summer and Winter Universiade are international multi-sporting and cultural festivals held every two years, gathering student-athletes aged 17-28 from over 170 countries. FISU’s other major sporting events are the World University Championships (WUC), single-sporting events which are held in the years between the Universiades. In 2016 there will be a total of 34 Championships in 25 countries. In addition to our existing broadcast agreements, FISU’s long-term multimedia partnership with Eurosport will bring live HD broadcast for each Summer Universiade and Winter Universiade across Europe and Asia-Pacific and greater exposure for all FISU properties through the monthly TV magazine CAMPUS. FISU’s partnerships with Eurosport covers all events through 2017. The 2017 editions of the Universiade are in Almaty, KAZ (winter) and Taipei City, TPE (summer), 2019 in Krasnoyarsk, RUS (winter) and Naples, ITA (summer) and 2021 in Lucerne, SUI (winter).