Columbia, Maryland Men Crowned National Champions at USTA League Presented by Chrysler 3.0 Adult National Championships

October 6, 2008

The team is co-captained by James Dorf and Jon Smith and features Tom Dreisch, Abraham Amoyal, Renaldo Savady, Thuy Than, Robert Stahler, Andrew Cuthill, Glenn Zenker, Tom Baldino, Damon Humphreys, Daniel Martin, Richard Briggs, David Arbanel, and Scott Felton.

The top four teams in order of finish are: Mid-Atlantic (Columbia, Md.), Midwest (Indianapolis, Ind.), Middle States (Lancaster, Penn.) and Southern (Baton Rouge, La.).

This year’s USTA League presented by Chrysler 3.0 Adult National Championship has drawn the top 34 teams (17 men’s and 17 women’s) from throughout the nation.

The USTA League program celebrated its 25th Anniversary in 2005. Established in 1980, it has grown from 13,000 participants in a few parts of the country in its first year, to over 665,000 players across the nation today, making it the world’s largest recreational tennis league.

USTA League was established to provide adult recreational tennis players throughout the country with the opportunity to compete against players of similar ability levels. Players participate on teams in a league format, which is administered by the USTA through its 17 Sections. The league groups players by using six National Tennis Rating Program (NTRP) levels, ranging from 2.5 (entry) to 5.0 (advanced). USTA League is open to any USTA member 19 years of age or older. It features Adult and Mixed Doubles divisions, as well as a Senior Division (age 50) and a Super Senior Division (age 60).