Roswell Men Crowned National Chamions at USTA League Presented by Chrysler 3.0 Senior National Championships

November 3, 2008

The team is captained by Don Niemas and features: Billy Garmon, Thomas Slocum, Charles McBride, Christopher Hardy, Danny Pitman, Thomas Flynn, Rick Dejager, Mike Callahan, Robert Betsill, Mike Meuse, Lars Mathiassen, Jack Camp, David Whitehead, J.D. Merchant, and John Heard, and plays at Roswell Park, a public park in Roswell, Ga.

The top four teams in order of finish are: USTA Southern (Roswell, Ga.), USTA Northern California (Lincoln, Calif.), USTA Mid Atlantic (Howard County, Md.), and USTA Hawaii Pacific (Honolulu, Hawaii).

This year’s USTA League presented by Chrysler 3.0 Senior National Championship has drawn the top 33 teams (17 men’s and 16 women’s) from throughout the nation.

The USTA League program celebrated its 25th Anniversary in 2005. Established in 1980, it has grown from 13,000 participants in a few parts of the country in its first year, to over 665,000 players across the nation today, making it the world’s largest recreational tennis league.

USTA League was established to provide adult recreational tennis players throughout the country with the opportunity to compete against players of similar ability levels. Players participate on teams in a league format, which is administered by the USTA through its 17 Sections. The league groups players by using six National Tennis Rating Program (NTRP) levels, ranging from 2.5 (entry) to 5.0 (advanced). USTA League is open to any USTA member 19 years of age or older. It features Adult and Mixed Doubles divisions, as well as a Senior Division (age 50) and a Super Senior Division (age 60).

Chrysler is entering its third year as the presenting sponsor and official vehicle of USTA League. Head Penn Racquet Sports is in its 21st year as official ball of USTA League.