Squash 2016 Announces Ambassador Additions

March 5, 2009

At a packed press conference in Kuala Lumpur yesterday, Nicol David, the Women’s World No.1 from Malaysia, announced that she is to become an ambassador for Squash 2016, the sport’s campaign to be included in the Olympic Games from 2016. An additional four top athletes have been added to the list of three players already announced, meaning the bid team now have eight sporting Ambassadors flying the flag for the sport the globe over.


Nicol, who has been ranked No.1 for an incredible three years, highlighted how important the Olympic Games are to her, “For an athlete there is no higher pinnacle of sporting achievement than an Olympic medal. No Malaysian has ever won a gold medal, and I would like to be the first. Squash is really strong in Asia, and making it an Olympic sport would give all Asian women something incredible to aim for.”

The other new ambassadors for Squash 2016 are; Rebecca Chiu, Hong Kong’s top female player, Siyoli Lusaseni the South African star, Saurav Ghosal, Indian No.1 and Englishman Alister Walker, winner of two PSA World Tour titles.

They are joining the initial three ambassadors: former world champion Thierry Lincou (FRA), world number three and current World Open Champion Ramy Ashour (EGY) and the first Mexican woman to earn a world top 20 ranking: Samantha Teran (MEX).

Natalie Grainger, Squash 2016 Bid Team member and World No.4 also spoke at the press conference, she said, “ Squash is a sport with worldwide appeal, and the fact that the two top players in the world come from Malaysia and Egypt mean that as a sport we can help take the Olympic Games into countries that don’t typically produce Olympians.” She added, “As a player I’m so excited about this opportunity and we’re determined to help it happen.”

Squash, played in 175 countries by over 20 million people, is bidding against six other sports for inclusion in the Olympic Games. The IOC Executive Board will meet to assess submissions from each of the sports in June, before the final vote by all of the IOC voting members in October.