ASBA Elects New Officers and Directors

November 17, 2009

Ellicott City, MD — The American Sports Builders Association (ASBA), the national organization for builders and suppliers of materials for athletic facilities, has announced the election of its officers and directors for the coming year. The new slate will take its place at the conclusion of the ASBA’s Technical Meeting, to be held in Savannah, Georgia, December 5-7.

Sam Fisher, CTB of Fisher Tracks, Inc., located in Boone, IA, was elected to the office of Chairman of ASBA. Fisher previously served the association as President of the Track Division, worked on the Track Certification Exam Development Committee, was actively involved in the re-write of the Running Tracks: A Construction & Maintenance Manual and Track Guidelines, as well as the certification program and has served as Chairman of the Interassociation Committee for track. He graduated from the University of Washington and majored in business with a minor in economics and accounting.

John Graham of DecoTurf in Andover, MA has been re-elected to the position of Secretary-Treasurer. Graham, who previously served two terms, has served the association in various capacities, including as a member of its Marketing Committee. He is a graduate of the University of New Hampshire with a B.S. in Business and Economics, and has completed additional studies in accounting, public relations, mergers and acquisitions and the valuation of companies.

Mark Brogan, CTCB of Pro-Sport Construction, Inc. in Devon, PA, has been re-elected to the position of Tennis Division President. He previously served the association as a member of the Board of Directors, and prior to that, has been active on the Awards Committee (including having served as Chairman) and also serves on a subcommittee for the USTA. He has been a Certified Tennis Court Builder since 1997.

Dan Wright of Sports Turf Company, Inc. in Whitesburg, GA was elected Fields Division President. He previously served as a member of the Board of Directors. He has been active in numerous ASBA committees, serving as Chairman of the Field Builders Certification Advisory Committee and the Chairman of the Turf Manual Revision Committee. He has also served as the Technical Chair for natural fields.

Randy Futty of Lee Tennis Court Products in Charlottesville, VA, has been re-elected to the office of Supplier Division President. He has been on the ASBA Board of Directors since 2007, a speaker at numerous ASBA Technical meetings over the past 16 years and is the past Chairman of the ASBA Awards Committee. He is also currently a member of the United States Tennis Association’s National Technical Committee and Co-Chairperson of both the USTA Outstanding Tennis Facility Awards Committee and a board liaison to the ASBA.

Several new members of the Board of Directors were also elected. They include the following:

Rob Delmonico of RAD Sports in Rockland, MA will serve as a Builder Director. He previously served the ASBA as a member of the Field Builders Certification Committee, and has participated in the ASBA awards programs for several years running. He attended Syracuse University and is a 1991 Civil Engineering graduate from Wentworth Institute of Technology.

Ben Rennolds, CTCB of Tennis Courts, Inc. in Aylett, VA will also serve as a Builder Director. He has been involved with the ASBA for many years, serving on the tennis court guidelines committee and as a speaker at multiple Technical Meetings. Mr. Rennolds holds an annual seminar for tennis professionals and educates attendees on construction and maintenance of hard courts and clay courts. He has also attended both Chowan College and Virginia Commonwealth University.

Rob Righter of Nova Sports, USA in Milford, MA was re-elected to the office of Supplier Director. He has served as President of Nova Sports for the past five years. Prior to that, he was Director of Marketing for seven years. A graduate of North Adams State College with a BS in Business Administration, Righter spent time at both Nielsen Marketing Research and Dun & Bradstreet before joining the family business.

Officers remaining on the Board of Directors will be Track Division President Kristoff Eldridge, CTB (Cape & Island Tennis & Track in Pocasset, MA); Professional Division President Ed Norton, RLA, ASLA (Holcombe Norton Partners, Inc., Birmingham, AL); Indoor Division President Robert Cohen, CTB (Robert Cohen Co., LLC, Albuquerque, NM).

Directors continuing on the Board include Bruce Haroldson (of Connor Sports Flooring, Salt Lake City, UT who was recently appointed to fill a vacancy), David Nielsen (Leslie Coatings, Inc., Indianapolis, IN), Gerry Perry, CTCB (Gerald Perry Tennis Courts, Inc., Springfield, MO), and Pete Smith (The CourtSMITHs, Toledo, OH).

George Todd, Jr., CTCB (Welch Tennis Courts, Inc., Sun City, FL) the association’s most recent chairman, will continue on the Board of Directors in the role of Immediate Past Chairman.