ITA National Intercollegiate Indoor Championship to Take Place

November 1, 2009

SKILLMAN, N.J. — The nation’s top men’s and women’s collegiate tennis players will be competing in the ITA National Indoor Championships starting Thursday, November 5. This year’s event is hosted by Yale University and will take place November 5-8 at the Cullman-Heyman Tennis Center in New Haven, Conn. The ITA National Intercollegiate Indoor Tennis Championships are the second of three national tournaments for singles and doubles during the collegiate tennis season.

These championships feature a 32-player singles field and 16-team doubles field for men and women, including: champions from Wilson/ITA Regional Championships held across the country during October, the ITA National Small College champions, the winners of the D’Novo/ITA Men’s All-American Tennis Championships and Riviera/ITA Women’s All-American Championships, and at-large and wild card selections made by the ITA National Tournament Committee.

“The ITA is thrilled that our ITA National Intercollegiate Indoor Singles and Doubles Championships will be the first National collegiate tennis championship ever hosted by Yale University,” said Executive Director, David A Benjamin. “We’ve heard wonderful things about the Cullman-Heyman Tennis Center and know that all of our varsity student-athletes are looking forward greatly to participating in this event.”

The participants of the 2009 championships included some of the best and brightest players in college tennis. The top eight men’s and women’s singles seeds for this week’s championships are as follows:

Men’s Singles:

Women’s Singles:

The top four doubles seeds for this week’s championships are as follows:

Men’s Doubles:

Women’s Doubles:

This event was inaugurated in 1978 for the men and 1984 for the women and past champions and finalists include current professionals Benjamin Becker (Baylor), James Blake (Harvard), Bob and Mike Bryan (Stanford), Laura Granville (Stanford), John Isner (Georgia), Kevin Kim (UCLA), and Lisa Raymond (Florida). Big Ten legends and Grand Slam finalists Todd Martin (Northwestern) and MaliVai Washington (Michigan) are also among the past champions.

Schedule of Play:


For complete coverage of the ITA National Intercollegiate Indoor Championships, visit