USTA Southern Announces Award Recipients

November 24, 2009

Atlanta, GA — USTA Southern has announced its recipients for the 2009 awards given for tennis excellence on and off the court. With over 25 categories, winners will be recognized during the USTA Southern Annual Meeting in January at the Atlanta Perimeter Marriott Hotel in Atlanta, Ga. The awards luncheon will take place on Saturday, January 16, 2010.

Volunteer members of the Awards Subcommittee and numerous other USTA Southern committees have selected winners from candidates nominated by USTA district staff and volunteers in the nine states which represent the section.

Winners of two of the most prestigious awards — the Jacobs Bowl and the Charlie B. Morris Jr. Service Award — will not be announced until the Hall of Fame banquet on the evening of Saturday, January 16. USTA Southern has added two awards to the list this year giving recognition to the growing success of the Tennis on Campus program, with a Club of the Year and a Leader of the Year award. Those will be given on Friday, January 15.

Winners for the DeWitt Redgrave III Junior Achievement award will be announced later in the year. The award is given to a male and female ranked in the 18s division in recognition of their tennis performance and sportsmanship. A decision can not be finalized until competition is complete for 2009.

Here are our 2009 USTA Southern award winners: