Amanda Granson Receives Sportsmanship Award

February 15, 2010

MADISON, Wis. — Amanda Granson of Duke University received the ITA Sportsmanship Award Sunday at the ITA National Women’s Team Indoor Championship, hosted by the University of Wisconsin at A.C. Nielsen Tennis Stadium. Granson, a senior from Hilton Head, S.C. was chosen for this annual award by the 16 participating coaches for displaying outstanding sportsmanship and exemplifying the spirit of college tennis during the course of the Team Indoor Championship as well as throughout her career. A member of the 2009 NCAA Team Champions, Granson, currently ranked No. 80 in singles in the Campbell/ITA College Tennis Rankings, played a pivotal role in Duke’s journey towards its first National Championship in program history. She was named to the NCAA All-Tournament Team. The Blue Devils are looking to continue their dominance by making it to tomorrow’s finals, already claiming victories over No. 8 USC and host Wisconsin.

Granson becomes the first Duke player and the fifth player from a North Carolina school to win this award in the 18 years it has been presented.

The ITA National Women’s Team Indoor Championship will conclude tomorrow with the championship match scheduled for 11:00 a.m. (CT).

Past ITA Sportsmanship Award Winners:

2009 – Lauren Lui, Northwestern

2008 – Brook Buck, Notre Dame

2007 – Jenna Long, North Carolina

2006 – Natalie Frazier, Georgia

2005 – Kendall Cline, North Carolina

2004 – Amber Liu, Stanford

2003 – Sara Walker, UCLA

2002 – Janet Bergman, Wake Forest

2001 – Keiko Tokuda, Stanford

2000 – Alison Ojeda, Tennessee

1999 – Jennifer Hall, Notre Dame

1998 – Julie Scott, Stanford

1997 – Lauren Nikolaus, William & Mary

1996 – Margie Lepsi, Tennessee

1995 – Dana Evans, Wake Forest

1994 – Wendy Crabtree, Notre Dame

1993 – Erica Kuttler, Florida