Gustavus Adolphus Set to Host Competition

February 18, 2010

ST. PETER, MINN. — Gustavus Adolphus College is set to host the 10th annual ITA National Division III Men’s Team Indoor Championship at the Swanson Tennis Center in St. Peter, Minnesota. In addition to the four-time event champion and tournament host Gustavus, seven of the top 11 teams in Division III tennis will play off to determine the 2010 ITA National Men’s Team Indoor Champion. The Emory Eagles will look to defend their 2009 title as the #6 seed entering the tournament. In Emory’s fifth finals appearance, they captured their third indoor title after winning back-to-back titles in 2004 and 2005. EU has made the championship every year since the tournament began in 2001 and has posted the most all-time victories with 18. Joining Gustavus (#25 in the current Campbell/ITA College Tennis Rankings) and Emory University (#2), will be the 2009 NCAA Division III Champions, UC Santa Cruz (#1), 2009 ITA Men’s Team Indoor Finalist, Washington University-St. Louis (#3), Kenyon College (#6), Johns Hopkins University (#8), Carnegie Mellon University (#9) and DePauw University (#11). Carnegie Mellon and Coach Andy Girard, which won the 2009 ITA National Division III Women’s Team Indoor title, also hosted by Gustavus, will be participating for the first time in the men’s event.

The tournament will begin on Friday morning at 11:30 a.m. with No. 3 seed Washington University facing No. 6 Johns Hopkins and No. 2 Emory versus No. 7 DePauw. The later matches are slated for 5:00 p.m., pitting top-seeded UC Santa Cruz against No. 8 Carnegie Mellon while No. 4 Kenyon squares off against No. 5 Gustavus. Saturday’s schedule has the losers of Friday’s matches playing in consolation matches beginning at 8:30 a.m., while the winners will play in semifinal matches beginning at 2:00 p.m. The final Consolation rounds are slated to start at 7:30 p.m. on Saturday. The third place and championship matches will begin at 9:00 am on Sunday morning.

*Please note that all times are central. Many of the top players in Division III will be taking part in the tournament including five of the top 10 singles players ranked in the Campbell/ITA College Tennis Rankings, including top-ranked John Watts of Washington University (Missouri) who easily captured the Division III singles title at the 2009 ITA Small College Championships before falling off to eventual Super Bowl Champion, Damien Hume of Collin College. Joining Watts are Dillon Pottish and Chris Goodwin of Emory, ranked fourth and sixth, and Kenyon teammates Tamas Piskacek and 2008 NCAA Singles Champion Mike Greenberg ranked seventh and tenth. Five of the top 10-ranked doubles tandems in the country will also be on display at this year’s event. For the second consecutive year, Emory comes in with the highest-ranked doubles team in Pottish and Goodwin, who are currently ranked second in the Campbell/ITA College Tennis Rankings after being edged 7-6 (2) in the tiebreaker to Middlebury’s top-ranked squad at the 2009 ITA Small College Championships. In addition to the Emory Eagle duo are the top-ranked duos from Washington University, UC Santa Cruz, Carnegie Mellon and DePauw, all ranked inside the top 10 at Nos. 3, 5, 6 and 10, respectively. This will be the eighth consecutive year that the ITA Division III Indoor Championship has been held at the Swanson Tennis Center on the campus of Gustavus Adolphus College in St. Peter, Minnesota.

For complete tournament results and information, please visit