Virginia defends ITA crown

February 16, 2010

CHARLOTTESVILLE, Va. — Tournament host University of Virginia has captured their third ITA National Men’s Indoor Championship title after defeating the fifth-seeded Tennessee Volunteers today at the Boar’s Head Sports Club, hosted by the University of Virginia. The Cavaliers (8-1) fell behind early 1-0 as Tennessee (10-1) dominated doubles play. 2009 Campbell/ITA National Doubles Team of the Year, J.P. Smith and Davey Sandgren pounced on Michael Shabaz and Drew Courtney 8-1 at the No. 1 position while 12th-ranked Boris Conkic and Rhyne Williams downed Houston Barrick and Jarmere Jenkins at No. 2 doubles. However, the Cavs quickly rebounded in singles, winning five of the six first sets. UVA finished off two of the wins to take a 2-1 lead, electrifying the crowd that broke a facility record of 1,250 on Saturday night, and never looked back. Barrick tied the match early at one a piece with his 6-2, 6-4 win over Matteo Fago at No. 5 singles. Fellow co-captain Lee Singer gave the Cavaliers the lead with his 6-2, 7-5 win over Davey Sandgren at the No. 6 position. 2009 ITA/D’Novo All-American Singles and Doubles Champion, J.P. Smith had defeated No. 3 Shabaz in straight sets during the fall, but Shabaz returned the favor by winning 6-4, 6-4 at the No. 1 position. Virginia took a 3-1 lead with Shabaz victory. This win snapped second-ranked Smith’s 13-match dual match winning streak, dating back to last season. “Michael is a big time player,” said Boland. “He rises to the occasion. When the stakes are the highest, he raises the level of his play. When it comes to crunch time, he knows what it takes to be successful. He came up big for us today and I am not surprised at all by that.” The victory was clinched at No. 4 singles by Courtney, who topped freshman Tennys Sandgren 6-3, 3-6, 6-3. This was a similar situation for Courtney as he was also the clinching match in the 2009 ITA National Indoor Championship in Chicago, Illinois. Virginia becomes the second team in history to win three consecutive ITA National Team Indoor Championships. Stanford won the first three tournaments held from 1973-76.

First Round Matchup: No. 2 Virginia def. No. 15 Alabama, 4-0

Quarterfinal Matchup: No. 2 Virginia def. No. 7 Georgia, 4-0

Semifinal Matchup: No. 2 Virginia def. No. 3 Ohio State, 4-1

Final Matchup: No. 2 Virginia def. No. 5 Tennessee, 4-1 #2 Virginia 4, #5 Tennessee 1



This event, which features 16 of the nation’s top programs, has annually crowned a National Indoor Champion every year since 1973.

ITA National Men’s Team Indoor Championships: Finals

#2 Virginia def. #5 Tennessee, 4-1

ITA National Men’s Team Indoor Championships: Semifinals

#5 Tennessee def. #8 Texas, 4-1

#2 Virginia def. #3 Ohio State, 4-1

ITA National Men’s Team Indoor Championships: Quarterfinals

#8 Texas def. #1 USC, 4-0

#2 Virginia def. #7 Georgia, 4-2

#3 Ohio State def. #11 Florida, 4-3

#5 Tennessee def. #4 UCLA, 4-2

ITA National Men’s Team Indoor Championships: First Round

#1 USC def. #16 Fresno State, 4-0

#2 Virginia def. #15 Alabama, 4-0

#3 Ohio State def. #14 Louisville, 4-2

#4 UCLA def. #13 Kentucky, 4-1

#5 Tennessee def. #12 Illinois, 4-0

#11 Florida def. #6 Baylor, 4-2

#7 Georgia def. #10 Mississippi, 4-3

#8 Texas def. #9 Stanford, 4-0

For complete results, visit