Award winners and All-Star Team to be Honored

August 26, 2010

SKILLMAN, N.J. — The Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA) announced the 10 National winners of the 2010 Arthur Ashe, Jr. Leadership and Sportsmanship Award and the 27th edition of the ITA All-Star Team, which features the nation’s top-ranked players and National Champions from the 2009-10 season.

These remarkable student-athletes will be treated by the ITA and United States Tennis Association (USTA) to a weekend in New York, highlighted by activities during Arthur Ashe Kids’ Day at the USTA Billie Jean King National Tennis Center on Saturday, August 28th. The group will be honored at the ITA awards luncheon, hosted by the USTA in the President’s Dining Room Suite. Lucy Garvin, Chairman of the Board and President of the USTA, David A Benjamin, ITA Executive Director, David Dinkins, former Mayor of New York City and a member of the USTA Board of Directors, are among those on hand to present the awards.

The ITA/Arthur Ashe Leadership and Sportsmanship Award recognizes outstanding individuals in all divisions at the regional and national level. This award which dates back to 1982, goes to NCAA Divisions I, II and III, NAIA and JuCo men’s and women’s players who have exhibited outstanding sportsmanship and leadership as well as scholastic, extracurricular and tennis achievements. The 2010 recipients include:


This 27th edition of the ITA Collegiate All-Star Team includes the nation’s top-ranked men’s and women’s tennis players from the season-ending Campbell/ITA College Tennis Rankings at the NCAA Divisions I, II and III, NAIA and NJCAA levels, as well as champions from the 2009 ITA National Intercollegiate Indoor Championships and 2010 NCAA Championships. Highlighting this year’s team are the Campbell/ITA National Players of the Year: Irina Falconi of Georgia Tech and Robert Farah of USC.


“We have seen some of the biggest names in tennis and entertainment on the court during Arthur Ashe Kids’ Day presented by Hess,” said Harlan Stone, Chief Marketing Officer, USTA. “Our 15th year will be no different, and this day of excitement and fun for kids and families, will again honor a great humanitarian and icon of our sport.”

Over the years, Arthur Ashe Kids’ Day has featured many of music’s biggest acts including Justin Bieber, Rihanna, Jessica Simpson, Britney Spears, Jordin Sparks, Backstreet Boys, Ne-Yo, Sean Kingston, Jesse McCartney, Bow Wow and Hanson.