Murray and Wozniacki Clinch US Open Series Titles

August 26, 2010

World No. 4 Andy Murray and 2009 US Open finalist Caroline Wozniacki officially clinched the 2010 Olympus US Open Series men’s and women’s titles today.

Murray, who won the Rogers Masters in Toronto and reached the final of the Farmers Classic in Los Angeles, clinched the men’s title when Sergiy Stakhovsky defeated Marcos Baghdatis in the quarterfinals at the Pilot Pen Tennis event in New Haven. This marks Murray’s first Olympus US Open Series title, after finishing in second place each of the last two years. Roger Federer and Mardy Fish finish in second and third place, respectively.

Wozniacki, who won the Rogers Cup in Montreal, also clinched her first Series title after advancing to the semifinals in New Haven via a walkover against Flavia Pennetta. Former Olympus US Open Series champion Kim Clijsters finishes the Series in second place while Svetlana Kuznetsova takes third place.

Murray and Wozniacki will now compete for the largest payout in tennis history at the 2010 US Open — $2.7 million ($1.7 million for winning the US Open and a $1 million bonus for winning the US Open and the Olympus US Open Series). Federer and Clijsters will compete for up to $500,000 in bonus prize money, while Fish and Kuznetsova will compete for up to $250,000.


In 2007, Roger Federer collected the biggest paycheck in tennis history — $2.4 million — for winning the US Open and the Olympus US Open Series. In 2005, Kim Clijsters also captured both the US Open and the Olympus US Open Series, winning $2.2 million — the largest purse in women’s sports history.

Now in its seventh season, the Olympus US Open Series has established itself as a true regular season of hard court tennis, linking 10 summer tournaments to the US Open. Fans can follow the action throughout the summer through national television coverage, culminating each week with back-to-back men’s and women’s finals every Sunday afternoon. Players battle for $40 million, including a chance for bonus prize money at the US Open. In 2008, Olympus became the first title sponsor of the Series. The Olympus US Open Series is also supported by sponsors American Express, Evian, Grand Marnier and SPDR State Street Global Advisors.