Champions Highlight Fields at USTA/ITA Nationals

November 1, 2010

WHITE PLAINS, N.Y. — The USTA and Intercollegiate Tennis Association announced today the fields for the 2010 USTA/ITA National Indoor Intercollegiate Championships, which will take place at the USTA Billie Jean King National Tennis Center’s new Indoor Building November 4-7. The men’s field will feature reigning NCAA singles champion Bradley Klahn of Stanford and ITA/D’Novo All-American champion Alex Domijan of Virginia, while the women’s field includes ITA/Riviera All-American champion Hilary Barte of Stanford and defending Indoor Intercollegiate champion Jana Juricova of Cal-Berkeley.

The USTA/ITA National Indoor Intercollegiate Championships features a 32-player singles field and 16-team doubles field for men and women, including: champions from the 24 Division I USTA/ITA Regional Championships, the USTA/ITA National Small College champion, the eight quarterfinalists of the ITA/D’Novo Men’s All-American Championships and ITA/Riviera All-American Championships, and at-large and wild card selections made by the ITA and USTA. Additionally, Columbia University, which is serving as the host school, will receive a wild card entry into each draw.

Other players in the men’s field include: defending Indoor Intercollegiate champion Steve Johnson of USC; 2008 USTA Boys’ 18s National Champion Austin Krajicek of Texas A&M; 2009 USTA Boys’ 18s National Champion Chase Buchanan of Ohio State; 2008 USTA Boys’ 18s National Clay Court Champion Evan King of Michigan; and Drew Courtney and Michael Shabaz of Virginia, who won the 2010 NCAA doubles title.

In addition to Barte and Juricova, other participants in the women’s field include: Maria Sanchez of USC, who is ranked No. 3 in the ITA Preseason Singles Rankings; Kristie Ahn of Stanford, who won three qualifying matches to become the youngest player in the 2008 US Open main draw; and Nicole Gibbs of Stanford, who was the runner-up at the 2010 USTA Girls’ 18s National Championships.

The USTA/ITA National Indoor Intercollegiate Championships was inaugurated in 1978 for the men and 1984 for the women. Past champions and finalists include current professionals James Blake (Harvard), Bob and Mike Bryan (Stanford), Laura Granville (Stanford), John Isner (Georgia), and Lisa Raymond (Florida). Big Ten legends and Grand Slam finalists Todd Martin (Northwestern) and MaliVai Washington (Michigan) are also among the past champions.