USTA names recipients of annual awards

April 5, 2011

WHITE PLAINS, N.Y. — The USTA announced today the seven winners of its Annual Awards during the USTA Annual Meeting, held April 1-4, at the Naples Grande Beach Resort in Naples, Fla. The honorees were recognized for their dedication to growing the game at an awards luncheon.

Below are the awards, descriptions and honorees:

Barbara Williams Leadership Award

The Barbara Williams Leadership Award was established in 2003 to honor the late Barbara Williams, a long-time USTA volunteer who gave unselfishly of her time and energy to promote the sport of tennis. It recognizes a female volunteer who, through her leadership and by her example, has encouraged and inspired others to become volunteers and assume leadership roles at the community, section, and/or national levels of the United States Tennis Association.

Brad Parks Award

The Brad Parks Award was established in 2002 to honor an individual or organization that has been instrumental in the development of wheelchair tennis around the world through playing, coaching, sponsoring or promoting the game. The award was named after Brad Parks, a pioneer of wheelchair tennis and the first wheelchair tournament champion.

USTA NJTL Founders’ Service Award

This is the inaugural year of the USTA NJTL Founders’ Service Award. Created by USTA Diversity, this award recognizes an individual NJTL chapter founder who is committed to positive youth development through tennis and education, and provides free or low cost tennis, education and life skills programming to thousands of underserved children each year. The inaugural award will be given to those recipients reflecting the values of NJTL founders Charles Pasarell, Sheridan Snyder and Arthur Ashe.

USTA Organization Member of the Year

The award is given annually and recognizes the outstanding services of a USTA member organization through its commitment to the tennis community, the organization’s members and the game of tennis. The award was instituted in 1981.

Ralph W. Westcott USTA Family of the Year Award

The Ralph W. Westcott USTA Family of the Year Award was created in 1965 by the USTA in honor of the late Ralph W. Westcott to emphasize the theme that “Tennis is a Family Game.” The award is given annually to the family who has done the most to promote amateur tennis, primarily on a volunteer basis. All members of the family should participate in tennis in some way, either as players or by offering their services in running programs or tournaments or in junior development activities.

Seniors’ Service Award

The Seniors’ Service Award was established in 1958 and is given annually to the person most deserving of the respect and honor of all senior players. It is awarded on the basis of the recipient’s willingness, cooperation and participation, either in play or organizational work, for the betterment and furtherance of senior competition. The award was first awarded to W. Dickson Cunningham of Rahway, N.J., for whom the trophy is named.