Miles and Richardson to be inducted

July 29, 2011

Indianapolis, Ind. — Mark Miles of Indianapolis, Ind., and Carrie Meyer Richardson of Camano Isle, Wash., (formerly of Indianapolis, Ind.) will be inducted into the 2011 USTA/Midwest Section Hall of Fame on December 3 in Indianapolis, Ind.

The 2011 USTA/Midwest Section Hall of Fame induction ceremony will take place at the Westin Hotel in downtown Indianapolis during the USTA/Midwest Section’s 118th Annual Meeting.

Mark Miles has made significant contributions to the sport of tennis throughout the world. He served as Chief Executive Officer and President of the Association of Tennis Professionals (ATP) Tour, the governing body of the global men’s professional tennis circuit, from 1990-2005. He oversaw a significant international expansion of the circuit, a restructuring of the circuit’s tournaments and player commitments, and the development of today’s widely accepted ranking system where the biggest tennis tournaments count and form the foundation of a player’s ranking.

Miles served as President of the Indianapolis Tennis Championships (formerly RCA Championships) from 1985-1989, and also served as volunteer tournament director of the Indianapolis Tennis Championships in 1988 and 1999. Miles also served as President of the 1987 Pan American Games Organization Committee.

Outside of his tennis business accomplishments, Miles currently serves as the 2012 Super Bowl Host Committee Chairman for the upcoming Super Bowl in Indianapolis. He is also currently President and Chief Executive Officer of Central Indiana Corporate Partnership (CICP) since 2006. CICP is a regional coalition of the CEO’s of Central Indiana’s most significant employers, and leaders of universities with substantial research operations, working to facilitate the region’s economic growth.

Miles played collegiate tennis for Wabash College in Crawfordsville, Ind. He played a key role in the Wabash College team qualifying for the NCAA Division III National Championship tournament in 1976, and the team’s third place finish in the first-ever Division III Men’s National Championship tournament. He and wife Helen’s three sons competed at all levels of USTA junior events.

Carrie Meyer Richardson competed from 1974-1982 in the formative years of the Women’s Tennis Association (WTA) professional circuit, and reached a career high No. 14 singles ranking in 1976. She competed against former professional tennis players including Chris Evert and Martina Navratilova.

Meyer Richardson’s coaching career included a stint as the Purdue University Head Women’s Tennis coach in the early 1980’s. She also coached several American junior women’s international teams on behalf of the USTA in 1985: US Junior Federation Cup team, World Youth Cup team, and Maureen Connolly Brinker Cup team.

Meyer Richardson played for the World Team Tennis Indiana Loves team in 1974 and 1975. During her collegiate career, Meyer Richardson was a Division I national champion at Marymount College (now called Lynn University) in Boca Raton, Fla. She won the Association for Intercollegiate Athletics for Women (AIAW) national college championships in 1974.

As a junior, Meyer Richardson won the Girls’ Athletic Association Indiana State Championship in 1971. She was a member of the USTA/Midwest Section (formerly Western Tennis Association) Junior Wightman Cup team in 1972, and USTA Junior Wightman Cup team in 1973. Meyer Richardson won the Maureen Connolly Brinker Junior Girls Invitational in 1973, the Girls’ 18 National Indoor Championships doubles title in 1973, and Girls’ 18 National Hard Court Championships singles and doubles titles in 1973.

“Mark Miles’ contributions to the sport of tennis and particularly his leadership of the Indianapolis Tennis Championships, and Carrie Meyer Richardson’s success as a professional tennis player, collegiate tennis coach and accomplishments as a junior player in the Midwest and Nationally, make them excellent additions to the USTA/Midwest Section Hall of Fame,” stated USTA/Midwest Section Hall of Fame Chairman Ronald A. Brooks.

The USTA/Midwest Section Hall of Fame was established in 1984. It was relocated to the USTA/Midwest Section headquarters office in Indianapolis in 2006 after residing at the Markin Racquet Center on the campus of Kalamazoo College in Kalamazoo, Mich. With the 2011 inductee class, the Midwest Hall of Fame is comprised of 67 distinguished individuals.

Currently, the USTA/Midwest Section exceeds 84,000 individual members and 1,000 member organizations. It is the second largest section of the United States Tennis Association, the National Governing Body for tennis in the U.S. The USTA/Midwest Section is comprised of 14 Districts in the following states: Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, Ohio and Wisconsin as well as designated counties in West Virginia and Kentucky. For more information, visit the USTA/Midwest Section at