ASBA Elects New Officers and Directors

December 18, 2011

Ellicott City, MD — The American Sports Builders Association (ASBA), the national organization for builders, designers and suppliers of materials for athletic facilities, has announced the election and installation of its officers and directors for the coming year. The new slate took its place at the conclusion of the ASBA’s Technical Meeting, held December 2-6 in Palm Desert, California.

Mark Brogan, CTCB of Pro-Sport Construction, Inc. in Devon, Pennsylvania, has been elected to the office of Chairman of ASBA. Brogan previously served the association as its Tennis Division President, and as a member of the Board of Directors. Prior to that, he was active on the Awards Committee (including having served as Chairman) and also serves on a subcommittee for the USTA. He has been a Certified Tennis Court Builder since 1997. He is also a member of the Joint Editorial Board, charged with reviewing and revising the ASBA/USTA joint publication, Tennis Courts: A Construction and Maintenance Manual. Brogan is a graduate of Lower Merion High School. He has attended St. Joseph University and Towson State University, majoring in criminal justice. Brogan’s previous experience includes five years as foreman for G.J. McGuire Co. and ten years as project manager for Julicher Sports.

Randy Futty of Lee Tennis Court Products in Charlottesville, Virginia, has been elected to the office of Secretary/Treasurer of the Association. He previously served as Supplier Division President, has been on the ASBA Board of Directors since 2007, and has acted as a speaker at numerous ASBA Technical meetings over the past 16 years. He is also the past Chairman of the ASBA Awards Committee. He is also currently a member of the United States Tennis Association’s National Technical Committee and Co-Chairperson of the USTA Outstanding Tennis Facility Awards Committee.

Jim Catella, CFB, CTB, of the Clark Companies in Delhi, New York is the new Secretary/Treasurer-Elect of the ASBA. The position of Secretary/Treasurer-Elect was created to allow the elected individual to become familiar with the responsibilities of the office in advance. Catella previously served the association on the Fields Certification Committee, has been a speaker at the Technical Meeting, and is a member of the committee that reviews and revises the publication, Sports Fields: A Construction and Maintenance Manual. He is both a Certified Field Builder and a Certified Track Builder.

Pete Smith, CTCB of the CourtSMITHS, Inc. in Toledo, Ohio, is ASBA’s new Tennis Division President. Smith previously served two terms as a member of the Board of Directors and prior to that, was active in the awards committee, including serving as the committee chairman. He is a Certified Tennis Court Builder, and the chairman of the Association’s Nominations and Elections Committee. Smith is a graduate of the University of Toledo with a degree in economics.

Robert Righter of Nova Sports USA in Milford, Massachusetts was elected President of the Supplier Division of ASBA. He previously served several terms as a member of the Board of Directors. In addition, Righter is the current chairman of the ASBA’s Awards Committee. He has served as President of Nova Sports for the past five years. Prior to that, he was Director of Marketing for seven years. A graduate of North Adams State College with a BS in Business Administration, Righter spent time at both Nielsen Marketing Research and Dun & Bradstreet before joining the family business.

Dan Wright of Sports Turf Company, Inc. in Whitesburg, Georgia, was re-elected Fields Division President. He previously served as a member of the Board of Directors. He has been active in numerous ASBA committees, serving as Chairman of the Field Builders Certification Advisory Committee and the Chairman of the editorial board that reviews and revises the publication, Sports Fields: A Construction and Maintenance Manual. He has also served as the Technical Chair for natural fields.

Several new members of the Board of Directors were also elected. They include Builder Director Benjamin Brooks (Patriot Court Systems, Inc., Houston, Texas) and Supplier Director Chris Rossi (Premier Concepts, Inc., Baltimore, Maryland). Re-elected to his position of Professional Director was Chris Sullivan (Verde Design, Inc., Santa Clara, California).

Officers continuing on the Board of Directors will be Track Division President Kristoff Eldridge, CTB (Cape & Island Tennis & Track in Pocasset, Massachusetts); Professional Division President Ed Norton, RLA, ASLA (Holcombe Norton Partners, Inc., Birmingham, Alabama); and Indoor Division President Randy Niese (Robbins Sports Surfaces, Cincinnati, Ohio).

Individuals continuing on the board in their current director positions include Rob Delmonico (RADSports, Rockland, Massachusetts), Mike Edgerton, CTCB (Copeland Coatings, Nassau, New York), Bruce Haroldson (Connor Sports Flooring, Arlington Heights, Illinois) Ben Rennolds, CTCB (Tennis Courts, Inc., Aylett, Virginia) and John Schedler, CTB, CFB (Atlas Track and Tennis, Tualatin, Oregon).

Leaving the board following this election will be Past Chairman George Todd, Jr., CTCB (Welch Tennis Courts, Inc., Sun City, Florida) and Secretary/Treasurer David Nielsen (Leslie Coatings, Inc., Indianapolis, Indiana). Sam Fisher, CTB (Fisher Tracks, Inc., Boone, Iowa), the association’s most recent chairman, will continue on the Board of Directors in the role of Immediate Past Chairman.

The ASBA is a non-profit association helping designers, builders, owners, operators and users understand quality athletic facility construction. The Association sponsors informative meetings, publishes newsletters, books and technical construction guidelines, offers voluntary certification programs in tennis court, running track and athletic field construction, and keeps its members informed of the latest developments in the industry. For additional information on the ASBA, its publications, activities and upcoming meetings, contact the Association by phone at 866-501-ASBA, 410-730-9595, by fax at 410-730-8833, or electronically at or [email protected].