Mylan WTT announces 2013 dates, finals

January 30, 2013

NEW YORK, N.Y. — The 2013 schedule for Mylan World TeamTennis presented by GEICO will start on Sunday, July 7, with 59 matches scheduled throughout July. League officials today released the dates for the 38th season of Mylan WTT, which concludes with the Mylan WTT Finals presented by GEICO on Sunday, July 28.

Eight teams will compete in two conferences during the regular season which concludes on Wednesday, July 24. The top two teams from both the Western and Eastern Conference advance to the 2013 Mylan WTT Conference Championships which will be hosted on Thursday, July 25 by the top-seeded team in each Conference. The 2013 Mylan WTT Finals will be contested on the home court of the Eastern Conference Champions.

The Finals are being moved back to their traditional July spot following a one-year move to a September final due to 2012 Olympics scheduling.

Team schedules for the three-week regular season will be announced in early March. The three-time champion Washington Kastles, who won their second consecutive WTT title last summer with back-to-back undefeated 16-0 seasons, will be taking a 32-match win streak into their 2013 season opener.

Each of the eight teams will play 14 matches – seven home, seven away. Eastern Conference teams are the Boston Lobsters, New York Sportimes, Philadelphia Freedoms and Washington Kastles. Western Conference teams are Orange County Breakers, Sacramento Capitals, Springfield Lasers and the yet-unnamed Irving, Texas-based team which recently relocated from Kansas City. The Texas team is currently holding a Name Your Team contest through January 31 at

Team lineups will start to be developed at the Mylan WTT Marquee Draft on Tuesday, February 12, with the rosters finalized at the Mylan WTT Roster Draft on Tuesday, March 12. Both drafts are scheduled for Noon EST on

For more information on Mylan World TeamTennis, visit


Tues., February 12 (Noon ET) Mylan WTT Marquee Draft

Week of March 4 2013 match schedule released

Tues., March 12 (Noon ET) Mylan WTT Roster Draft

Sun., July 7 – Wed., July 24 Mylan WTT Regular Season

Thurs., July 25 Mylan WTT Conference Championships presented by GEICO (location: hosted by top seeded team in both Eastern and Western Conferences)

Sun., July 28 Mylan WTT Finals presented by GEICO (location: at home court of Eastern Conference Champion)



Orange County Breakers Bren Events Center at UC Irvine Campus, Irvine, Calif.

Sacramento Capitals Sunrise Marketplace Outdoor Pavilion, Citrus Heights, Calif.

Irving, Texas (team name TBD) Venue TBD, Irving, Texas

Springfield Lasers Mediacom Stadium at Cooper Tennis Complex, Springfield, Mo.


Boston Lobsters The Joan Norton Tennis Center at Manchester Athletic Club, Manchester, Mass.

New York Sportimes Sportime Stadium at Randall’s Island, New York, N.Y.

Philadelphia Freedoms The Pavilion at Villanova University, Villanova, Pa.

Washington Kastles Kastles Stadium at the Wharf, Washington, D.C.