PTR Elevates Master Professionals

July 30, 2013

Hilton Head Island, SC — Professional Tennis Registry (PTR) announced that its Board of Directors voted to elevate current PTR Master Professionals to International Master Professionals. Going forward, PTR has eliminated ‘Master Professional’ and will use ‘International Master Professional’, as one of the organization’s highest designations.

The following have joined Dr. Jack Groppel, Heikki Hedman, Billie Jean King, Dr. Jim Loehr, Doug MacCurdy, Edvard Raastad, Richard Schönborn, Tan Poh Seng and Dennis Van der Meer as PTR International Master Professionals:

The Selection Committee continually reviews applications for this designation. The application deadline for the awards presentation in February is September 1. Candidates must meet certain criteria, including service to PTR or international federation, coaching experience, professional development, publications and presentation, tournament administration and community service to facilitate the growth of the game.

The International Master Professional Committee elected John Raker as Chairman, and Anni Miller and Todd Miller (no relation) as Co-Vice Chairs to serve three year terms.

PTR President and International Master Professional, Jorge Andrew said, “PTR International Master Professionals are the best of the best teaching professionals and leaders in the industry.”

“It is a pleasure to work with each and every one of these fine coaches, who are now PTR International Master Professionals,” said Dan Santorum, CEO. “They should be proud of their contributions to the game.”

PTR is the largest global organization of tennis teaching professionals with more than 14,600 members in 117 countries. It has the greatest percentage of multicultural and women members of any such organization. PTR is dedicated to educating, certifying and servicing tennis teachers and coaches around the world in order to grow the game.