ITA names 2014 Hall of Fame inductees

May 20, 2014

SKILLMAN, NJ — The Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA) Men’s Collegiate Tennis Hall of Fame will induct seven new members on Wednesday at the 2014 ITA Men’s Collegiate Hall of Fame Enshrinement Banquet. The banquet will be held during NCAA Division I Men’s & Women’s Tennis Championships held at the University of Georgia in Athens, Ga.

The Class of 2014 includes coaches Billy Chadwick (Mississippi), Timon Corwin (Kalamazoo), and James Wadley (Oklahoma State U); players Matt Anger (USC), Juan Farrow (Southern Ill U – Edwardsville) and Alex Kim (Stanford); and contributor, Doug Conant (Northwestern).

Below are details on the successes and achievements of the seven men who will be inducted on Wednesday night:


Billy Chadwick coached the Mississippi women’s team from 1979-1986, and in 1982 he led the Rebels to the program’s first Top 20 national ranking. He took over the men’s program in 1983 and led the Rebels to 20 straight NCAA tournaments. Chadwick’s overall coaching record is 647-298, including 540 wins on the men’s side, and he coached his team to seven Top 5 national finishes and 15 in the Top 10. Under Chadwick, the Rebels reached the 1995 NCAA Team Championship Final, the NCAA Final Four on four occasions and the Sweet 16 on 16 occasions. He coached seven No. 1 singles players, two NCAA Champions (Devin Britton and the team of Mahesh Bhupathi and Ali Hamadeh) and 29 ITA All Americans. Chadwick was the 2009 USPTA National College Coach of the Year as well as a three-time SEC Coach of the Year (1996, 2004, 2009). Under his coaching, Chadwick’s team was a five-time SEC Champion. He was named ITA Southeast Region Coach of the Year (2004, 2008) and is in the Mississippi Sports Hall of Fame and the Mississippi Tennis Hall of Fame.

Timon Corwin was an eight-time ITA All-American in singles and doubles while playing at Kalamazoo College. He led his team to an NCAA Division III team championship and won the singles title his senior season (1986). Corwin coached at Kalamazoo from 1993 to 2008, leading his teams to a 262-118 (.689) overall record. His teams also finished third or higher in the nation six times and had two national runner-up finishes (1997 and 1999). Corwin was the 1997 Men’s Division III Wilson/ITA Coach of the Year and the 1999 Men’s Division III Midwest Region Wilson/ITA Coach of the Year. He was Senior Director for Junior and Collegiate Competition for USTA Player Development (2008-2010) and is currently GM & Director of Tennis at the Western Racquet Club in Elm Grove, WI.

James Wadley was the longest tenured head coach in Oklahoma State athletics history, and in his 40 seasons in Stillwater, Wadley made 17 NCAA appearances and won 12 conference titles. Individually, he was equally successful with 108 Cowboys earning all-conference honors and nine garnering ITA All-American status. Wadley was named the regional coach of the year on 11 occasions and has been honored as the conference coach of the year 13 times. OSU had at least two individual conference champions in 28 of his 40 seasons. Wadley began his playing career in McAlester, Oklahoma, where he was a two-time state champion. He went on to play collegiately at Southeastern Oklahoma State where he was a two-time All-American at the NAIA level, and he helped lead his team to four straight conference titles and four consecutive appearances in the NAIA Tournament.


Matt Anger was a three-time ITA All-American and helped the USC Trojans finish third in the NCAA Championships in 1983. Before his collegiate career, he was ranked as the No. 1 junior in the world by Tennis Magazine and won the junior Wimbledon singles title in 1981. Anger played on the ATP tour for eight years, winning three Grand Prix titles and achieving a career high singles ranking of No. 23. His grand slam achievements include advancing to the round of 16 at Wimbledon and the U.S. Open in singles in 1986. Starting with the Australian Open in 1985 through Wimbledon in 1987, no American won more Grand Slam singles matches than Anger. He has served on numerous ITA and NCAA committees and hosted National Team Indoors several times. Currently, Anger is the head men’s coach at the University of Washington, a position he has held since 1995. He has led UW to the NCAA Championships 18 straight times.

Juan Farrow was an eight-time ITA All-American at Southern Illinois U.-Edwardsville. He was an ITA All-American in Division I singles in 1980 and from 1977-80 was an ITA All-American in both Division II singles and doubles. He was a three-time singles national champion in 1977, 1978, and 1980 and was a member of the U.S. Under-21 Davis Cup Team. In 1979, Farrow was a NCAA Division I singles semifinalist and he and partner Arjun Fernando defeated Kevin Curren and Steve Denton at the NCAA Championships. Behind Farrow and Fernando, the SIUE men’s tennis team captured back-to-back NCAA Division II Men’s Tennis Championships and Farrow was part of a 4-time NCAA Team National Champions from 1977-1980. Before his collegiate carrier, he was the No. 1 ranked junior in both 1971 and 1973.

Alex Kim was a two-time ITA All-American while at Stanford, earning those honors in his final two years. He was also named an All-Pac-10 honoree three times, including being the 2000 Pac-10 co-Player of the Year with teammate Geoff Abrams, the 2001 Pac-10 Player of the Year, and part of the 2001 Pac-10 Doubles Team of the Year with K.J. Hippensteel. He twice won at least 20 singles matches in a season, and finished his career with a total of 78 wins, which is seventh in the history of Stanford men’s tennis. He won the NCAA Singles Championship to close out his junior year in 2000. Alex was a part of two USTA/ITA National Men’s Team Indoor Championships and two NCAA Team Championships (1998 and 2000).


Doug Conant was a four-year letterman on the men’s tennis team at Northwestern. Conant is the former President and CEO of Campbell Soup Company, and was instrumental in helping orchestrate Campbell’s title sponsorship of the ITA College Tennis Rankings program and the ITA College Tennis Player of the Year awards. Campbell has also been a dedicated sponsor of the International Tennis Hall of Fame & Museum, as Conant joined the Board of Directors of the International Tennis Hall of Fame & Museum in 2003. He was a driving force behind the continued growth of the Campbell’s Hall of Fame Tennis Championships, an ATP Tour event, and the Hall of Fame Weekend, which features the annual Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony (where the ITA College Tennis Players of the Year are also recognized).