ITA HoF to induct four

August 23, 2016

TEMPE, Ariz. – The Intercollegiate Tennis Association formally announced its ITA Women’s Collegiate Tennis Hall of Fame class of 2016 on Tuesday, August 23, 2016.

Alycia Moulton, Gretchen Rush, Jane Goodman, and Virginia Brown are set to be honored at the 2016 induction ceremony on November 12, at the McCormack-Nagelsen Tennis Center at the College of William and Mary in Williamsburg, Virginia.


Every two years, the ITA Women’s Collegiate Hall of Fame enshrines exceptional players, coaches and contributors in women’s intercollegiate tennis. To register for the 2016 ITA Women’s Collegiate Tennis Hall of Fame induction, click here. For more information on the Hall of Fame, visit the official website here.

Alycia Moulton

Moulton was one of the top junior players of her time, winning the 1979 US Junior Championships and finishing runner-up at the 1979 Wimbledon Junior Championships. A 1983 graduate of Stanford University, Moulton earned NCAA Division I national titles in doubles (1979, 1980), singles (1982) and helped guide the Cardinal to the team crown in 1982. Moulton would go on to have a stellar professional career, winning two titles and reaching a career-high singles ranking of No. 18 in 1984. She served two terms on the Women’s Tennis Association Board of Directors and represented the United States in the Wightman Cup, playing doubles alongside Chris Evert.

Gretchen Rush

A NCAA Doubles Champion in 1983 and two-time NCAA singles and doubles runner-up in 1985 and 1986, Rush graduated from Trinity University in 1986. A four-time All-American, Rush was named the Women’s Player of the Year in 1984 and 1985, and was the ITCA Senior Women’s Player of the Year in 1986. In addition, she was the No. 1-ranked junior in the world in 1982. Professionally, Rush reached No. 13 in the WTA singles ranking, and advanced to the quarterfinals of the US Open (1982), French Open (1983) and Wimbledon (1986, 1989). She was a Wimbledon mixed doubles finalist in 1988. In 1983, Rush earned a gold medal for the United States in singles and doubles at the 1983 Pan-American Games. Rush also represented the U.S. at the 1984 Olympic Games. Rush is currently the head coach at her alma mater.

Jane Goodman

Goodman has long been considered the authority in the United States on collegiate tennis rules and interpretations, having served as the ITA Rules Committee liaison for many years. She recently retired her post as Head Referee of the NCAA Women’s Division I Championship, a position she held for over two decades. She was the recipient of the USTA John McGovern award in 2013, the highest honor a United States official or referee can receive. Goodman serves as the Head Referee for the Riviera/ITA Women’s All-American Championships and Pac-12 Conference Championships (men and women). She’s been a mentor to hundreds of officials throughout her tenure.

Virginia Brown

A 40-year coaching veteran, Brown was also an accomplished player before beginning her coaching career, winning the Texas State doubles championships from 1958 to 1962. In 1959, she also won the Texas Intercollegiate Doubles Championship. In 1963, Brown competed at Wimbledon. Brown’s first coaching job was at Odessa College in 1963, where she remained until 1980. From 1974 to 1988, she also coached the women’s team at the University of Texas Permian Basin and served as UTPB Athletic Director between 1987 and 1988. Brown was named the NAIA Coach of the Year in 1985 and NJCAA Coach of the Year six times (1969, 1970, 1976, 1978, 1980 in women’s and 1980 in men’s). Brown won a total of 14 National Junior College Team Championships (eight women’s and six men’s) from 1967 to 1980. From 1999-2003, Brown served as women’s head coach at Texas Tech.

About the ITA Women’s Collegiate Tennis Hall of Fame

The ITA Women’s Collegiate Tennis Hall of Fame is housed the McCormack-Nagelsen Tennis Center at the College of William and Mary in Williamsburg, Virginia. Millie West serves as curator and chairperson of the Hall of Fame, which began in 1995. The Hall of Fame and tennis center were made possible through a generous donation from the late Mark McCormack and Betsy Nagelsen. Every two years, the Hall of Fame enshrines exceptional players, coaches and contributors in women’s intercollegiate tennis. The ITA Hall of Fame Committee selects inductees from the following categories: (1) outstanding collegiate players; (2) players who attended college and later had a significant impact on women’s tennis; (3) outstanding collegiate coaches; and (4) individuals or corporations that played a major role in the development of women’s intercollegiate tennis.

About the ITA

The Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA) is the governing body of college tennis, overseeing women’s and men’s varsity tennis at NCAA Divisions I, II and III, NAIA and Junior/Community College. The ITA serves all of college tennis, and returns leaders of tomorrow, by administering a comprehensive awards and rankings program for men’s and women’s varsity players, coaches and teams in all divisions, providing recognition for their accomplishments on and off the court. For more information on the ITA, visit the ITA website at, like the ITA on Facebook or follow @ITA_Tennis on Twitter.