Tennis Channel to Cover Third Annual Laver Cup Sept. 20-22

September 19, 2019

LOS ANGELES – Tennis Channel’s third year of exclusive Laver Cup television coverage begins on Friday, Sept. 20, at 7 a.m. ET. In its third year, Laver Cup again features six of the top European stars facing off against six of the best players from the rest of the world. The network will offer complete live coverage of the three-day event, held in Geneva this year.

Tennis Channel will show more than 20 hours of live Laver Cup coverage in 2019, with encore matches following the conclusion of each day’s play. For the first two days, the event is split into day and night sessions with a single block of matches Sunday to determine the competition’s winning team. Following coverage each day, the half-hour Tennis Channel Live will recap the action and look ahead to the next day.

The network’s on-air team features Hall of Famer and analyst Lindsay Davenport (@LDavenport76) along with coach Paul Annacone (@paulannacone). Tennis Channel’s announcers include veteran sportscasters Brett Haber (@BrettHaber), Steve Weissman (@SteveWeissman) and newcomer Noah Eagle (@NoahEagle15).

Hall of Famers and former rivals Bjorn Borg and John McEnroe are back as captains for Team Europe and Team World, respectively. Former World No. 4 Thomas Enqvist will serve as Borg’s vice captain with 1989 French Open doubles champion Patrick McEnroe as Team World’s vice captain. The teams play each other over the course of three days with the stakes increasing each day of the event. Every year the competition changes venues between Europe and the rest of the world, with Prague hosting the first event in 2017, followed by Chicago last year. This year Laver Cup is being held at the Palexpo, a convention center in Geneva.

The teams are competing to reach 13 total points, with the match values growing from Friday through Sunday. On Friday, matches are worth a single point each and increase to three on Sunday’s final session. Each day of play has three singles matches and a doubles match, with no doubles team allowed to play twice. If there is a tie following play on Sunday, there will be a doubles match to determine the champion. Last year, Team Europe won convincingly by a score of 13-8, after having also won in 2017 with a 15-9 score.

Team Europe, like it did during the inaugural event, will feature men’s tennis’ two winningest Grand Slam singles champions with Roger Federer and Rafael Nadal. Joining them are two-time French Open finalist Dominic Thiem, 2018 World Tour Finals champion Alexander Zverev, 2019 Australian Open semifinalist Stefanos Tsitsipas and World No. 11 Fabio Fognini. Team World boasts an accomplished roster with 2018 Miami Open champion John Isner, 2016 Wimbledon finalist Milos Raonic, former World No. 13 Nick Kyrgios, up-and-coming Canadian Denis Shapovalov, former World No. 8 Jack Sock and 2019 Eastbourne International champion Taylor Fritz.