ASBA Announces New Officers and Directors

December 29, 2019

Forest Hill, MD – The American Sports Builders Association (ASBA), the national organization for builders and suppliers of materials for athletic facilities, has announced the election of its officers and directors for the coming membership year.

The new slate took its place at the conclusion of the ASBA’s Technical Meeting, held in Orlando, Florida. The meeting, which featured an all-time high attendance of more than 750,drew attendees from not only across the United States but around the world.

Mark Heinlein, the Association’s present Fields Division President, was elected to the office of Chairman for the coming year. Heinlein is the Director of Technical Projects and Research with the Motz Group, LLC, in Cincinnati,Ohio. He holds the Certified Field Builder (CFB) designation, has spoken at meetings and has been active on the committee level of the Association as well, serving on both the Awards Committee and the committee to edit and revise the ASBA’s publication, Sports Fields: A Construction and Maintenance Manual.

Kristoff Eldridge, CTB, of Cape & Island Tennis & Track, in Pocasset, Massachusetts, who has served as the Association’s Chairman, will take the office of Past Chair.

Elected to the position of Fields Division President was Kirk Grego of Mid-America Golf & Landscape, Inc. in Lee’s Summit, Missouri. Grego is a Certified Field Builder (CFB) and previously served on the Board of Directors as the Secretary/Treasurer.

William Chaffe has been elected to the position of Secretary/Treasurer of the Association. Chaffe is the President of Paragon Sports Constructors, LLC, in Fort Worth, Texas, and has been active in ASBA.

Two individuals who have been re-elected to their current positions are Tennis Division President, Matt Strom, CTCB, of Leslie Coatings, Inc. in Indianapolis, Indiana, and Supplier Division President David Moxley, of Sportsfield Specialties, Inc., in Delhi, New York.

Continuing in their current positions are Track Division President, Paul Nagle, CTB, of Nagle Athletic Surfaces, Inc., in Syracuse, New York; Courts & Recreation Division President, Randy Resley, of Sport Court of the Rockies, Highlands Ranch, Colorado; and Professional Division President, Megan Buczynski, PE, LEED AP, of Activitas, Inc., in Dedham, Massachusetts.

Newly elected to the Board of Directors was Craig Honkomp, PE, PS, LEED AP, who will represent the Professional Division of the Association. Honkomp is with Sportworks Field Design in West Chester, Ohio.

Current members of the Board of Directors re-elected to new terms were Todd Dettor of Fast-Dry Courts, Inc. & 10-S Tennis Supply in Pompano Beach, Florida; and Dale Hendrickson of TD Sports, Inc. – Sport Court of Southern California, in Simi Valley, California. Both Dettor and Hendrickson will continue to represent the Builder Division of the Association. Chris Sullivan, RLA of Verde Design, Inc., Folsom, California was re-elected to the Board, representing the Professional Division.

Those continuing as members of the Board of Directors, representing the Builder Division, David Clapp, CTB, CTCB (Baseline Sports Construction, Knoxville, Tennessee), Joe Covington (Covington Flooring Co., Inc., Birmingham, Alabama), Jordan Fisher, CTB (Fisher Tracks, Inc., Boone, Iowa), and Jameson Sheley, CFB-S, CTB (Byrne & Jones Sports Construction, Bridgeton, Missouri).

Those continuing to serve on the Board of Directors, representing the Supplier Division, are David Burke (NGI Sports, Chattanooga, Tennessee) and Tracy Lynch (Har-Tru Sports, Charlottesville, Virginia).

The ASBA is a non-profit association helping designers, builders, owners, operators and users understand quality sports facility construction. The ASBA sponsors informative meetings, publishes newsletters, books and technical construction guidelines for athletic facilities, and keeps its members aware of the latest developments in the industry. It also offers voluntary certification programs in tennis court, running track and sports field construction.

Available at no charge is a listing of all publications offered by the Association, as well as the ASBA’s Membership Directory. For information on the ASBA, as well as on its publications, activities and upcoming meetings, please contact the Association at 2331 Rock Spring Road, Forest Hill, Maryland 21050. The toll-free phone number is 866-501-ASBA. The ASBA also may be reached via its website:, or via e-mail at [email protected].