Madrid, Innsbruck, Turin to Simultaneously Open Davis Cup Finals

May 18, 2021

The cities of Madrid (Spain), Innsbruck (Austria) and Turin (Italy) will simultaneously host the first ties of the Davis Cup by Rakuten Finals 2021 on Thursday 25 November. The multi-site format, which is being introduced for the first time this year, will see each venue host two competition groups during the group stage, with Innsbruck and Turin hosting one quarter-final, and Madrid hosting the remaining two quarter-finals. The Spanish capital will also stage the two semi-finals and the final.

In Madrid, Canada will open the action against Sweden (Group B); in Innsbruck, France will face Czech Republic (Group C); and in Turin, Australia will take on Croatia (Group D). All ties will start at 1600 CET and, as with all ties at the Davis Cup Finals,will consist of two singles matches and one doubles.

The three host nations will have to wait one more day to launch their campaigns – with ties on Friday 26 November also starting at 1600 CET as Spain take on Ecuador in Madrid, Austria open against Serbia in Innsbruck and Italy face the USA in Turin. The group stage will be completed on 27 and 28 November with the debut of other teams including Russian Tennis Federation (RTF), Great Britain and Germany. The quarter-finals begin on Monday 29 November.

Albert Costa, director of the Davis Cup Finals said: “The scheduling of the ties has been carefully designed to ensure a level playing field for all participants, including those who will have to travel due to their progression in the knockout phase. There will be equality across all the groups and without doubt every match will be very exciting. The teams are planning to bring their best players and we are absolutely certain that this will be an event that will bring the annual tennis season to a spectacular close”.

The International Tennis Federation (ITF) and Kosmos Tennis – the organisers of the competition – are already working with each of the cities to prepare the venues, and ticket sales information are expected to be announced in the coming weeks. The event will be played on identical hard courts.

Venues and Groups

Madrid Arena, Madrid (ESP)
Group A: Spain, RTF, Ecuador
Group B: Canada, Kazakhstan, Sweden
Quarter-finals: Winner Group A v group runner-up; Winner Group B v group runner-up
Semi-finals and final

Olympia-Halle, Innsbruck (AUT)
Group C: France, Great Britain, Czech Republic
Group F: Serbia, Germany, Austria
Quarter-final: Winner Group C v Winner Group F

Pala Alpitour Arena, Turin (ITA)
Group D: Croatia, Australia, Hungary
Group E: USA, Italy, Colombia
Quarter-final: Winner Group D v Winner Group E