Tennis Channel to Show Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony Live

July 16, 2021

LOS ANGELES, July 15, 2021 — Tennis Channel will again be the exclusive home of the International Tennis Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony in Newport, R.I., live this Saturday, July 17, at 6 p.m. ET. This year’s celebration honors the classes of both 2020 and 2021, due to the cancellation of last year’s enshrinement during the worldwide pandemic. At the conclusion of the ceremony, fans will be able to relive the prestigious moments on-demand via streaming service Tennis Channel Plus.

“We remain honored by the privilege and responsibility that come with Tennis Channel being the annual home of the International Tennis Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony,” said Ken Solomon, president, Tennis Channel. “The Hall of Fame, this iconic venue, museum and city of the first U.S. championships, have all made meaningful strides in recent years, while also fortifying this hallowed American grass-court tradition and maintaining the ambience of the entire event.” Every sports hall of fame is special, but tennis’ singular global hall is unique, because unlike team- and club-based sports, our players compete individually (or in pairs) throughout their careers. Thus enshrinement in ITHF represents the highest honor in the game, and is the ultimate guardian of player legacies. There’s nothing quite like it.”

Solomon spent nine years on the International Tennis Hall of Fame board of directors and continues to serve on the organization’s guidance committees.

Tennis Channel announcer Brett Haber (@BrettHaber) will resume his longtime role as master of ceremonies during the International Tennis Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony. The network’s on-air team includes host Steve Weissman (@Steve_Weissman), Hall of Famer Pam Shriver (@PHShriver), and Tennis Channel global reporter and former player Prakash Amritraj (@PrakashAmritraj).

In May Tennis Channel won four Telly Awards for documentary work it produced in light of the 50th anniversary of the Original 9’s formation. The awards honor creativity and excellence in video and television storytelling.