ASBA Announces New Officers and Directors

December 10, 2021

Forest Hill, MD – The American Sports Builders Association (ASBA), the national organization for builders, designers and suppliers of materials for athletic facilities, has announced its officers and directors for the coming membership year. The new slate took its place at the conclusion of the ASBA’s Technical Meeting, held at the Hyatt Grand Cypress resort in Orlando, Fla.

David Clapp, CTB, CTCB, of Baseline Sports Construction in Knoxville, Tennessee, took office as the Association’s new Chairman. Clapp, a longtime member of the Association’s Board of Directors, as well as a volunteer on numerous projects and publications, previously served as Chairman-Elect.

Mark Heinlein, CFB, of The Motz Group, Cincinnati, Ohio, and the Association’s current Chairman, moves to the position of Immediate Past Chairman.

Kirk Grego, CFB of Mid-America Sports Construction in Lee’s Summit, Missouri, was re-elected to the position of Fields Division President.

Megan Buczynski, PE, LEED AP, of Activitas, Inc., Dedham, Massachusetts has taken office as Secretary/Treasurer, having previously served as Secretary-Treasurer Elect).

Jordan Fisher, CTB of Fisher Tracks in Boone, Iowa, was re-elected as a member of the Board of Directors representing the Builder Division.

Anthony Graham of MAPEI in Deerfield Beach, Florida, was elected to the Board of Directors as a member of the Supplier Division.

Continuing their terms on the Board of Directors are Randy Resley of Sport Court of the Rockies, LLC, Highlands Ranch, Colorado (Courts Division President), Craig Honkomp, PE, PS, LEED AP of Sportworks Field Design in West Chester, Ohio (Professional Division President) and Paul Nagle, CTB, of Nagle Athletic Surfaces, Inc., Syracuse, New York (Track Division President)

Remaining in office as members of the Board of Directors are Fred Kolkmann, CTCB of Fred Kolkmann Tennis & Sport Surfaces, LLC, Grafton, Wisconsin (Builder Division-Courts), Jameson Sheley, CFB-S, CTB, Byrne & Jones Sports Construction, Bridgeton, Missouri (Builder Division-Fields), David Painter, Stockmeier Urethanes USA, Inc., Clarksburg, West Virginia (Supplier Division-Tracks), Tim Gerrits, ASLA, of GMB Architecture + Engineering, Holland, Michigan (Design Professional Division), David Burke, NGI Sports, Chattanooga, Tennessee (Supplier Division President-Courts), Todd Dettor of Fast-Dry Courts, Inc. & 10-S Tennis Supply, Pompano Beach, Florida (Builder Division-Courts); Dale Hendrickson of TD Sports, Inc.- Sport Court of Southern California, in Simi Valley, California (Builder Division-Courts) and Chris Sullivan, RLA of Verde Design, Inc., Folsom, California (Design Professional Division).

The ASBA is a non-profit association comprised of nearly 500 designers, builders and suppliers in sports facility construction. The ASBA sponsors informative meetings, publishes newsletters, books and technical construction guidelines for athletic facilities, and keeps its members aware of the latest developments in the industry. It also offers voluntary certification programs in tennis court, running track and sports field construction.