National Champs Crowned at 2022 HBCU National Tennis Championships

September 20, 2022

ATLANTA, GA. (September 19) – On what turned out to be a perfect weekend for fall tennis at the South Fulton Tennis Center, the 2022 HBCU National Tennis Championships once again showcased the talent and excitement found within HBCU tennis programs over the three days of competition at the 21st annual event.

Featuring representatives from 14 different HBCU programs from across the country, the HBCU National Championships not only offer a unique opportunity for current student-athletes to compete amongst each other, but the event also serves as a showcase and educational opportunity for younger players who aspire to compete at the collegiate level one day.

Throughout the high school combine, attendees were able to hear from HBCU head coaches as well as members of the USTA on the collegiate process and how to reach their dreams of playing in college. Additionally, representatives from Albany State, South Carolina State, and Howard were also in attendance providing information to these attendees about enrolling in college and continuing the educational experience.

On the courts, it was Alabama State (Men’s) and Xavier University of Louisiana (Women’s) taking home the Team National Titles at the 2022 HBCU National Tennis Championships. The win marked the first HBCU National Title for Alabama State and the third HBCU National Title for the XULA women’s team.

Final Team Standings:

Men’s Team Standings
Alabama State University – 30
Tennessee State University – 19
Alabama A&M University – 17
Xavier University of Louisiana – 17
North Carolina Central University – 8
Johnson C. Smith University – 4
Shaw University – 3
Tuskegee University – 3
LeMoyne-Owen College – 0

Women’s Team Standings
Xavier University of Louisiana – 25
North Carolina Central University – 22.5
Alabama A&M University – 22
Alabama State University – 21.5
Florida A&M University – 21
Shaw University – 16
Tennessee State University – 12
Albany State University – 10
Johnson C. Smith University – 5
Grambling State University – 3
Tuskegee University – 3
Clark Atlanta University – 1
LeMoyne-Owen College – 1
Bowie State University – 0