Canada Defeats Australia to Win First Davis Cup Title

November 27, 2022

Impressive singles victories for Denis Shapovalov and Felix Auger-Aliassime saw Canada defeat Australia 2-0 to win the 2022 Davis Cup by Rakuten title on Sunday. Shapovalov battled past Thanasi Kokkinakis before Auger-Aliassime overcame Alex de Minaur to seal Canada’s first Davis Cup title.

The Canadians’ triumph sees them become the 16th nation to be crowned world champions since the Davis Cup was established in 1900. Having finished as runners-up to Spain on their first appearance in a Davis Cup final, in 2019, they become the third team to win the Davis Cup title on their second appearance in a final – after Czechoslovakia (who lost to Sweden in their first final in 1975 and defeated Italy in their second final in 1980) and Switzerland (who lost to USA in their first final in 1992 and defeated France in their second final in 2014).

While Australia’s first appearance in the Davis Cup final for 19 years ended in defeat, 2022 has been a strong season for Australian tennis. With the Australian women’s team also finishing as runners-up at the Billie Jean King Cup Finals earlier this month, it is the first time since 1993 that Australia reached the finals of both the Davis Cup and the Billie Jean King Cup.

Canada defeated Australia 2-0
Palacio de Deportes Jose Maria Martin Carpena, Malaga, Spain
Denis Shapovalov (CAN) d. Thanasi Kokkinakis (AUS) 6-2 6-4
Felix Auger-Aliassime (CAN) d. Alex de Minaur (AUS) 6-3 6-4
Felix Auger-Aliassime/Vasek Pospisil (CAN) v Max Purcell/Jordan Thompson (AUS) – not played