USTA Announces 4 Winners of 2022 Umpire Awards

November 18, 2022

ORLANDO, Fla., November 17, 2022 – The U.S. Tennis Association (USTA) announced that Dean Richardville, Patrick Zuraski, Chase Urban and Greg Allensworth were named winners of the Nicholas E. Powell Award, Woodie Walker C.A.R.E. Award, Jr. McGovern Award, and John T. McGovern Award, respectively. The awards, which honor those individuals who serve the game of tennis with distinction in their capacity as officials, will be given out at the 2022 Annual Umpire Awards, to be held virtually on November 18.

“We are fortunate to have talented and dedicated officials such as Dean, Patrick, Chase and Greg, who are truly making an impact in growing tennis at both the grassroots and professional levels,” said Sean Cary, USTA Managing Director, Competition Operations. “Their leadership, work ethic and passion for the game are just a few of the reasons why they’re so deserving of this recognition.”

Given each year to a grass-roots official, the USTA Nicholas E. Powel Award recognizes the importance of officiating at the local level. Since 1990, the award has been given to officials who work primarily at sectional/amateur events, have a supportive attitude toward grass-roots programs, and are positive role models. Richardville, of Tulsa, Okla., has been an official for 13 years and currently serves as both the Chair of Officiating for USTA Oklahoma and the Vice Chair of Officiating for the USTA Missouri Valley Section. He has worked local, district and Section events, while also officiating various levels of collegiate tennis. He has a sustained record of excellence at all levels of officiating, having been named the USTA Missouri Valley official of the year twice and the Oklahoma Official of the Year multiple times.

The Woodie Walker C.A.R.E. award recognizes a tennis official whose contributions to the game and to the USTA distinguish them not only for their long-standing service to the sport but for exemplifying the qualities “Woodie” Walker has represented during her decades of leadership in the field, specifically those that represent the award’s acronym: Commitment, Accountability, Responsibility, and Excellence. Zuraski, of Colorado Springs, Colo., has more than two decades of officiating experience. He has earned a reputation amongst his peers as someone who is committed to the development of other officials and has served as a mentor for countless new officials. Zuraski makes himself available for all levels of play and always conducts himself with the highest level of professionalism and integrity.

The Jr. McGovern Award is awarded for outstanding on-court officiating by a relatively new official who shows talent and potential. The award recognizes service and excellence by younger officials. Urban, of Brentwood, Tenn., has quickly made a name for himself in the officiating world as a hard worker and a team player. He has shown a commitment to grow and improve as an official, successfully officiating at the professional level both in the U.S. and internationally. Urban was previously recognized with the Jack Stahr Award, which was given annually to a US Open official who is in one of his or her first three years at the US Open.

The John T. McGovern Award is given out to a USTA-certified chair or line umpire with at least 10 years of service who has demonstrated outstanding contributions to tennis officiating. Allensworth, of North Canton, Ohio, is a Gold Badge Chair Umpire, the only American official to actively hold that distinction. He has diligently worked his way up the officiating ladder, working as a full-time chair umpire around the world. He has shown a commitment to upholding to standards of a professional chair umpire on and off the court, allowing him to reach the highest level of officiating.